Learning and Assessment

Purpose and aims of the EYFS

The Statutory Framework for Early Years Foundation Stage states:

‘Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances. A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right. Good parenting and high quality early learning together provide the foundation children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.’

At Little Cranes Pre-School we follow the EYFS Framework. We use the document for essential advice and guidance to evaluate the practice and quality in our setting to ensure every child make age appropriate progress. We will work with you to carefully document the progress of your child through their home and Pre-School experiences. The EYFS Framework will also be used in your child’s Reception year at their Lower School and this personalised learning journey then forms part of the smooth transition to Year One.

Overarching Principles

The EYFS principles guide the work of all practitioners and are grouped into four distinct but complementary themes;

These are:

The early learning goals and educational programme

The EYFS promotes effective practice through each of the seven areas of learning to support children through various stages of maturity and development. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three prime areas are:

The Four specific areas are:

Each of the seven areas of learning are seen by our practitioners as being equally important with each area being connected to each other and underpinned by all of the principles in the EYFS.

To view the DFE's 'What to expect and when' document for children from birth to five years, please click the image below.


Planning for Purposeful Play

Staff plan activities which enable your child to progress and experience all aspects of the EYFS curriculum. Children learn best when they are actively involved in something they enjoy. If you spend any time in our setting it will become obvious that the children spend a great deal of time “playing”. Play has a serious purpose for each child: it is his or her main learning tool. Play offers a child a means of exploring and understanding the world and his or her place in it. Our play activities are carefully structured and tailored to meet each child’s individual needs.

Assessment and Observations

During their time with us, observations are made on your child. We use an online system called 'Learning Book' to support the assessment of their progress against the Early Years Foundation Stage, which identifies expectations called ‘Early Learning Goals (ELGs)’. Learning Book gives parents a smart, flexible way to review and interact with their child’s early years education by transforming the link between home and the classroom. LearningBook is a complete digital solution for learning journeys we can record, analyse and share information on their progress.

With Learning Book, you can:

When you join our Pre-School, you will be given access to this online system! Should you require any support, please do not hesitate to ask! Alternatively, please do explore our Parent Workshop Learning Book Presentation by clicking here.